IVV and AVA Volunteer Achievement Awards

The FVA recognizes the achievements of the volunteers and walkers, bikers, and swimmers in the state by providing recognition within the web site. The definitions below relate to AVA and Region Awards.

The pages on AVA books and pin/patch awards and listing of individual levels of achievements provide  recognition for these individual levels of achievement.

The pages are:

1. What are AVA Books and Achievement Levels? 

2. Milestones of Achievements for Florida Volkssporters

  1. 3.AVA Volunteer Achievement and Service Awards 1991-Present


The AVA honors achievements by volunteers within AVA biennially at the Convention.

IVV Honors

The IVV may recognize individuals within the American Volkssport Association for services, deeds, and accomplishments. These must have advanced the ideals and aspirations of volkssporting in the United States or internationally.

IVV Service Pin with Certificate
  Bronze for at least eight years of service.
  Silver for at least fifteen years of service.

Ted Ballman Memorial Award for Youth Volkssports

The Ted Ballman Memorial Award for Youth Volkssports recognizes the efforts of an individual or organization to create, enhance, or promote volkssporting programs for youth around the world.

President's Award

The AVA President bestows this award upon individuals, clubs or groups who through their exemplary display of volkssporting spirit are worthy of national recognition.

Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have given at least eight years of extraordinary, unequaled exemplary service to the AVA. Personal contributions must have been made at an exemplary level at several stages of service. The number of Distinguished Achievement Awards to be issued biennially is limited to twenty.

Meritorious Service Award

The Meritorious Service Award recognizes individuals who have given at least five years of outstanding service to the AVA. No more than six Meritorious Service Awards may be presented biennially by each AVA Region.

Commendable Service Award

The AVA may bestow an AVA Certificate of Commendable Service Award upon individuals who have given significant service to the AVA. The award can be given regardless of the amount of time, before an individual is again eligible. The award will be recognized by a certificate, a pin, and a rocker patch.

Trailblazer Award

The AVA Trailblazer Award recognizes AVA Member Clubs that have made significant contributions to the development, maintenance or improvement of walking trails or to the support of trail related issues.

Certificate of Appreciation

Provided for Service to AVA and its Clubs by individuals and businesses. The form can be ordered from the AVA Web Site.

Committee Certificate of Service

Provided by the AVA Headquarters for Volunteer Service on AVA Executive Committee, AVA standard and special committees, and AVA Convention Committees.

Convention Publicity Contest

Started in 2009, the contest awards ribbons for categories such as photos, Community Support, Brochures, Newsletters and Web Sites that support AVA.